Lau Nau

Land Without God



Fonal Records will release a new Lau Nau soundtrack album Land Without God on October 4th, 2019.

1. Opening
2. The Hill
3. The Saints
4. We Spent the Best Parts of Our Lives
5. Our Past Did Not Happen
6. Saint Joseph’s Boys
7. Godless
8. We Were the Kids
9. Taken Away

Land Without God is a soundtrack by Lau Nau to a documentary film by the same name directed by Mannix Flynn, Lotta Petronella and Maedhbh Mc Mahon. It is an intimate portrait of a family coming to terms with decades of institutional abuse and the impact that it has had, and still has, on their lives.

The film follows artist Gerard Mannix Flynn and his family who, for the first time, discuss and reveal the trauma of being separated during childhood, being forcibly incarcerated in children’s home and industrial institution and the long-lasting effect of abuse that they and generations of Irish people suffered at the hands of the Irish State and Catholic Church.

Laura’s approach to film music is minimalistic: ”I try to let the music to breathe in unison with the images and give the viewer time and the means to immerse into the film without manipulation.”

“In a significant role on the album is the bowed lyre played by Pekko Käppi. I am processing the acoustic sounds through a modular synthesizer and a reel to reel recorder, playing the piano and synthesizers, singing the vocal parts with Tuija Kuoppamäki. The Irish concertinas are played by Cormac Begley”.

Lau Nau aka. Laura Naukkarinen has released five albums to date. Her previous album Poseidon was a critically acclaimed Emma nominee and Femma award winner.

Lau Nau: Land Without God will be released on Spotify and other digital platforms on October 4th, 2019.

Format: 320Kbps MP3’s in ZIP ARCHIVE
Size: 106MB
Cat No: FR-109D
Lenght: 31 minutes